DEICIDE’s Glen Benton slams SLIPKNOT’s Corey Taylor

Bassist/vocalist Glen Benton of Florida death metal veterans DEICIDE was interviewed on a recent edition of the “Talk Toomey” podcast. Here’s what he told of SLIPKNOT, when the band cited DEICIDE as one of their earliest influences- 

“Not to fucking bust balls, but I’ll bust balls. SLIPKNOT, ‘Oh, dude, we’re gonna take you guys out, man. We’re gonna take you guys out, dude. Yeah, blow me. That’s what I say to you. Fucking blow me, Corey Taylor and all you f*gs. ‘Oh, we’re gonna take DEICIDE out on tour with us and blah blah,’ blowing air up our asses, back in the day. And it’s just, like, you know what?! You never did a fucking thing for us. You introduced us at a show once. Great, thanks. How about a fucking tour? How about fucking helping us out a little bit? I mean, we’ve only been doing this for so many years. These bands [are like], ‘Dude, these guys are what got me started.’ Well, you know what? Return the fucking favour. You know what I mean? And I see a lot of this, ‘We don’t want that kind of competition.’ At least they know it.”

glenbentonlive2013_638

Glen adds, “But you know how they get away with… This is how a lot of the bigger bands… this is how they get away with getting out of having you on a tour, ’cause they offer you a shitty amount of money, where it’s virtually impossible to do it, so you end up declining or cancelling or whatever the fuck, and then you look like the idiot. ‘We offered you the tour. You can make t-shirt money.’ Yeah, right. We’ve gotta at least make it so we can afford our transportation. You wanna stick us on a fucking city bus to the gigs? But I appreciate the fact that bands like that fucking mention us, and shit like that, and it’s great. It’s really awesome. Here’s an idea: talk to one of these big-time promoters [into offering] DEICIDE a better position on a festival or putting us on one of these tours this year. I don’t mind opening for these bands; I really don’t. But I’m gonna fucking bring my ‘A’ game, and if I blow you away in the fucking process… whatever.”

148_photo

Source- Blabbermoth (transcribed by BLABBERMOUTH.NET)

Leave a Reply

