David Ingram [Hail of Bullets]: If a band thinks it’s too much of a risk then they should stay home

David Ingram has been an important face in the Death Metal scenario over the last few decades. The man has fronted legendary bands such as Benediction, Bolt Thrower to Down Among the Dead Men, Echelon and even recently joining Hail of Bullets, while the list goes on. He also started the premiere radio shows- Metal Breakfast Radio and Lambert’s Basement. I talk to him about how his life has changed over the years, the multitude of tasks he’s involved with and lots more while he speaks out frankly. Excerpts from the interview-

10633986_997235106993029_5133058326085454659_o

MJM. You have spent close to three decades in the music industry and going strong as ever, having done vocals for revolutionary Death Metal bands such as Benediction, Bolt Thrower to even a newer band such as Echelon and finally joining Hail of Bullets recently. Tell us about how things shaped up over all these years?

David: You missed out my other bands DOWNLORD, URSINNE (yet to be released) and DOWN AMONG THE DEAD MEN. So I thought I better add those too. That’s how things have been for me these last few decades. Very, very busy. I like to be active in my endeavors.

MJM. Did you ever sense that some of your bands would be among the most influential Death Metal bands?

David: I never looked at it in that sense. I mean, who would? You just forge on with the sense that you are doing something, whether right or wrong, that you absolutely love doing. Else why do it at all? I saw how things became over the years and it made me very happy and very proud to have been a part of it all.

MJM. How testing was it to fit into a new environment each time you were part of a new project? How do you establish yourself in the comfort zone?

David: If it was testing then it wouldn’t be right. If a person has a comfort zone then they might be too emotional and that’s not how the business works. There shouldn’t be any snowflakes here. One either fits in, or knows that they’re dealing with the wrong people. If that’s the case, look to see if you’re the problem, or they are, and what can be done about it. For me it was always easy to be a part of something new. I love what I do so it is always natural to me.

MJM. Would it add any sort of a pressure?

David: Again, if you feel pressured then you are in the wrong business. Best to go do something else. Like knitting.

13700053_1086862734696932_4395806537093755879_n

David Ingram- with HAIL OF BULLETS- Live at Maryland Deathfest- 2016

MJM. Congratulations on joining Hail Of Bullets. How did this come about?

David: Thank you! I saw they had lost their singer Martin, so I wrote and asked if they needed my services for the Maryland Deathfest gig. They responded that they did and we rehearsed together for the show. During said gig the guitarist Stephan announced that I was the new vocalist full-time. That was quite a day of days.

MJM. I have always wanted to ask you this. How do you balance your time with your day job and all the other multitude of projects?

David: I’m quite lucky, as my job is different to a good many others. I have to work 3 hours from 6am to 9am, then I get a period of 4 hours where I sit in the office and am on call. Most weeks nothing happens…so I spend the time working on my other projects. I can do any necessary recording once I am home – as I am doing this week with the new ECHELON album “The Brimstone Aggrandizement”.

MJM. Tell us about Metal Breakfast Radio. What was the idea and concept behind starting this one?

David: We started out as a simple podcast with an audience of zero and we’ve built it up to being syndicated by 5 different internet radio stations (that we know of) and downloads of between 2500 to 3000 each week. It’s not your average Metal show, as we give a running commentary over the music that bands submit to the show. We rate them and, if we don’t like what we hear, we Exterminate them, like “the gong show.” We’re pretty brutal about it, but it really is all just in good fun. We have several beers while we record, so it can sometimes get a bit “moist” – if you know what I mean? We’ve been doing that show for the last 8 and a half years, and I don’t think we’ll stop just yet. I’ll give you some links at the end to find us online.

MJM. You also had Lambert’s Basement, which was different from the regular stuff you do. What provoked you to start this one?

David: My love for Big Band Jazz made me do it, which is what the show played. When I began DOWN AMONG THE DEAD MEN I had to put it on hiatus. I’ll bring it back one day when it’s time to do so. I named the show after my Father, Lawrence Albert Lambert Ingram, as it was he that got me into that style of music. It was to honor him.

MJM. How has music shaped you as a person? What impact did it have on you over these years?

 

David: I listened to music from an early age. There was always something playing in my house as a child. I was 7 when I heard Sabbath Bloody Sabbath and that was a pivotal point for me. I knew where my path lay. It’s hard to say how it affected me, or shaped me, as it has been a part of my life always. I guess it would be easier to ask how removing music from my life would be but that’s too awful to contemplate!

13735644_1086838988032640_8561841607782361146_o

MJM. Do you listen to any new age bands?

David: Probably, but I couldn’t tell you their names. I listen to so much these days.

MJM. Let’s talk about your favorite movies. Any filmmaker you are an avid fan of?

David: Lots! Stanley Kubrick, Ridley Scott, David Lynch…to name but a few. As for movies: 2001 A Space Odyssey, Alien, A Clockwork Orange, Blade Runner, Blue Velvet, Singing In The Rain, Casablanca…I could go on for hours.

MJM. Today’s music industry has taken a dip in the sale of physical CD’s/Vinyl’s for instance. In such a scenario, is it too risky for bands to put out an album?

David: If a band thinks it’s too much of a risk then they should stay home, or get a job in a bank (or supermarket if they’re morons) as they are approaching the music industry the wrong way. You have to love what you do and ignore the risks. Just go for it. Else drop it and go play with your toys at home.

MJM. Thank you so much for speaking to us. Good luck with your ventures and the upcoming projects.

David: Thank YOU for the interview. Hail Satan!

David’s Top 5 albums (pretty current):

        Fever Ray – Fever Ray

        Bolt Thrower – Those Once Loyal

        Paganizer – On A Gurney To Hell

        Bonesaw – The Illicit Revue

        Queens of the Stone Age – Era Vulgaris

13680027_1086836321366240_66172013090728_o

Connect with David Ingram:

Website  | Church of Satan | Metal Breakfast Radio

13737611_1091396524243553_8700299251629715821_o

His project- ECHELON has recently unveiled the artworks for their upcoming album- The Brimstone Aggrandizement with Rogga Johannson (guitar/bass) and Travis Ruvo (drums).

Interviewed by-

Harsha Vardhan (Metaljesus Magazine– Owner/ Chief Editor)

Leave a Reply

