AUTOPSY Tourniquets, Hacksaws And Graves” ALBUM REVIEW

AUTOPSY Tourniquets, Hacksaws And Graves” ALBUM REVIEW:


Before any introductions go about , Tourniquets, Hacksaws And Graves” is on par with the previous releases while progressing towards the crispy death with doom influences.

In 2011, 15 years later the band reformed to release the highly reviewed “Macabre Eternal”. Since its reformation Autopsy have continued to make heavy albums with their latest being “Tourniquets, Hacksaws And Graves” on Peaceville Records.

Down to business, then. This record is a sharp and pointed tale of shock and gore. Savagery sets out the band’s stall in two and a half brutal and feral minutes. The sound is very live and old school- raw, too. The band sound very much alive and raging as they tear out of your speakers. Cranked up on a home stereo, the effect is adrenaline inducing. My Saturday morning was very metal indeed.

Playing around with slower tempos on The Headless Ritual, that aspect continues to get attention. The lengths are more manageable, and the doom-laden songs are spaced out with efficient results. The album, not including the filler instrumental “All Shall Bleed,” avoids dipping in quality because of a well-paced track listing.

The Howling Dead” gets into a sludge fest with almost a Southern groove to the guitar work, and the acoustic work early on in “Deep Crimson Dreaming” helps conjure up an eerie atmosphere the song title suggests.

Chris Reifert’s gurgles and a lolling bass from Joe Allen not only lend the song a distinct beauty to its melancholy madness, but it allows it to sound completely different from its rattling brethren. Follow-up “Parasitic Eye” nearly follows suit before eventually ghost-riding into territory a tad more familiar, although it exists as one of the album’s speedier four minutes. “Burial” moves at a dragging pace, offering up a template of fat riffs, plodding drums, and a foggy atmosphere before the casket drops and all goes haywire in the last minute or so.

The album suffers slightly weak production and a few fillers in the middle of the release; overall it is still a credible racket to keep their status within death metal very much alive.

Ratings : 80%

Track Listing:

1. Savagery
2. King of Flesh Ripped
3. Tourniquets, Hacksaws and Graves
4. The Howling Dead
5. After the Cutting
6. Forever Hungry
7. Teeth of the Shadow Horde
8. All Shall Bleed
9. Deep Crimson Dreaming
10. Parasitic Eye
11. Burial
12. Autopsy


Autopsy are:

Chris Reifert – Vocals, Drums

Eric Cutler – Vocals, Guitars

Danny Coralles – Guitars

Joe Trevisano – Bass


Links: Site | Facebook



Review by-

AB Varma (Metaljesus Magazine)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s